International Coordinating Council

The Bone and Joint Decade is guided by an International Coordinating Council (ICC) of experts from various geographical regions and disciplines. The diversity of the ICC includes rheumatologists, researchers, orthopaedic surgeons, patient advocates, trauma specialists, rehabilitation, and emergency medicine specialists from across the globe. The countries they represent are Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Japan, Kenya, Lebanon, Netherlands, Norway, South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States and Vietnam.

Expand the names below to find out more about our ICC members


Tony Woolf UK (Chair) - Inflammatory Conditions
Kristina Akesson (Sweden) – Osteoporosis

Karsten E Dreinhofer (Germany) – Trauma and Rehabilitation

Manjul Joshipura (India) - Trauma Surgery
Deborah Kopansky-Giles (Canada) – Chiropractic
Amye L. Leong M.B.A - USA
Zhanguo Li (China) - Rheumatology
Lyn March (Australia) - Inflammatory Conditions
Shuichi Matsuda (Japan) - Orthopaedic Surgery
Girish Mody (South Africa) – Inflammatory Conditions
Marcos E Musafir (Brazil) – Trauma
Lillian Mwaniki (Kenya) – Patient Advocacy
Margareta Nordin (USA)
Jack Skrolsvik (Norway) – Patient Advocate
Josef Smolen (Austria) – Inflammatory Conditions
Gerold Stucki (Switzerland) – Rehabilitation
Vo Van Than (Vietnam) – Spinal Surgery
James Waddell (Canada) – Orthopaedic Surgery
Stuart Weinstein (USA) – Paediatric Orthopaedics